May Day is Lei Day in Hawaiʻi

05.01.2018

We will save the real flowers for our Friday May Day performance.

Today is May 1st.  In Hawaiʻi, we celebrate May Day today!  “Wear a lei, give a lei,” we like to say.

Almost every school here has some type of May Day performance.  I am struck, once again, by how lucky I am to work at the same school my kids attend, since this means I will be present for their performances.  The school is currently practicing for their May Day performance this Friday and it is probably one of the most highly attended events.  And I love it.  My son’s class will be dancing to the song Ulupalakua about a place in Maui where the cowboys lived.  My daughter’s class is dancing to a Tahitian song and also playing in the ukulele band.

I love seeing all the lei and flowers that the kids wear.  I love seeing them sing and dance all their Hawaiian mele or songs.  I love having them learn a little bit more about their culture.  May Day in Hawaiʻi is unlike any other event and I am so proud of this celebration of all things Hawaiian!

For a little bit of history about May Day in Hawaiʻi, please click here.
To hear the song May Day is Lei Day in Hawaiʻi, please click here.

Happy May Day!

6 thoughts on “May Day is Lei Day in Hawaiʻi

Leave a comment