Day 9: A Little Kindness

03.09.2018

Yesterday was a trying day.  I was tired from the night before, so it didn’t help that I wanted the day over before it even started.

I had gotten up early in the morning (as I do everyday) to drive to the nearest Starbucks to get my coffee (I know, I know, I’m an addict).  While there, I noticed an older man sitting by the door, quietly sipping his coffee, watching something on his phone.  I didn’t think much about it and I walked past to pick up my already waiting coffee.  As I walked out, I noticed a piece of trash on the ground and, as I bent over to pick it up, the older man started to say something to me.  I couldn’t quite understand him, so when I was finished throwing the trash away, I turned to him and asked him politely, “Hmmm?  What was it that you said?”

“There was trash on the ground and I didn’t want you to slip on it.”

“Oh!”  I exclaimed.

“By the way,” he said slowly, “You’re so beautiful.”

Not at all what I was expecting.  Clearly embarrassed, I laughed and said, “Wow.  Thank you!  Have a great day!”

Now, I know better than to think that this older gentleman was hitting on me, but as I walked out of there, I chose to think that he was complimenting my good manners rather than my looks.  As embarrassed as I was though, I will admit that it was a very nice thing to say and I enjoyed the compliment.  That little compliment made me walk a little taller and made the dark dusk of morning a little brighter.

Later, at the end of that same day, as I was walking home from work, I noticed another older gentleman carrying a heavy bag, struggling to cross over the pedestrian bridge near my home.  He would take a step and then stop.  Take another step and then stop.  I knew I would catch up to and then pass him soon.  I also knew I had to quickly make a decision: pass him, as the other 2 people did ahead of me, or stop and ask him if he needed some help.  I chose to do the latter.

“Can I help you with your bag, sir?”  I asked.

“Oh aren’t you just the sweetest thing!”  he answered.  “No, I’m perfectly fine and I can manage this.  I’m a 65 year old man and I just thank God everyday that I’m alive.  Do you know what it’s like to talk to the Lord?  To give it up to Him and know that it’s going to be alright?” he said with a smile on his face.

“Yes!” I answered brightly.

He continued, “I’ve been living here for 25 years after retiring from the airlines.  I was the first black stewardess to fly in the airlines and it was a wonderful 25 years.  I loved it all.  And now I’m here, walking to my home right there,” he pointed, “thanking the good Lord that I’m still here, kicking up a storm.”

We finished our lively conversation and parted ways.  It was not at all what I expected, but after my negative attitude this morning when I woke up, probably what I needed.  I immediately thought of my short encounter with the gentleman at Starbucks and my encounter with this man on the bridge.  I was pretty sure the universe was talking to me and I just had to listen.  What was it that this encounter had in common with the first?  I knew in both instances that I had done something what others may view as being kind and helping out, but I’m pretty sure I received more than what I put out.  These two men, one at the beginning and one at the end of my day, had given me the attitude I needed to turn my outlook around.

I am still tired, as I am a mom and a teacher and life still goes on, but the world truly does look different when it’s a happier place.

4 thoughts on “Day 9: A Little Kindness

Leave a comment