Day 7: Bathroom Talk

03.07.2018

I still haven’t quite figured out why my kids will bypass their father, sitting in his favorite comfy leather chair, and walk straight to me to ask me a question.  In all honesty, it irks me to no end.  But what REALLY gets me is when they walk past him, to me, while I’m in the bathroom.  It doesn’t matter if I’m getting ready, taking a shower, or yes, even “doing my business,” my children will always come in to talk to me.  There have been many a time where I’ve been washing my face and I get that freaked out feeling that someone is staring at me, only to open my eyes and see another set of eyes staring right back at me, peeking at me from around the shower curtain.  As my daughter came in tonight, once again, I thought, “No one would ever believe the things my kids ask me when I’m in the bathroom, unless I wrote it down.”

And that’s how this slice came to be.

The following are the things my children have said to me while I was in the bathroom:

  • “Mom, what are you doing?”
  • “What’s for dinner?”
  • “How much longer will you be in here?”
  • “Why do you have to take a shower?”
  • “What’s this thing for?” (asked about my eyelash curler)
  • “Do you know where dad is?”
  • “Can you cut this one fingernail?”
  • “Mom, are you going to come kiss me goodnight?” (after telling her, before my shower, that I would be in to come and kiss her goodnight
  • “What’s going on in here?”
  • “Can I eat some chips?”
  • “Are you going walking today?”
  • “Why do you have to go walking everyday?”
  •  “Can we go to the aquarium?” (my personal favorite)

And this was just tonight.

9 thoughts on “Day 7: Bathroom Talk

  1. This made me giggle. Us moms get no privacy at all! I only have one daughter, but every time I’m in the bathroom she just needs to talk to me. Lately the question has been “can I just sit in here and talk to you while you shower?” How can I say no to that?!?! But sometimes, I just want to take a shower in silence. What a great idea to write down the questions your kids ask. I bet you’ll all giggle about this one day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your daughter is too adorable! You’re right, you can’t say no to that. My kids asking me random questions while I’m in the shower irritates me to no end, but I also tell myself that, when they are older, they probably won’t want to talk to me at all, so I guess I’ll take it when I can get it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • She did it again last night “can I just stay in here and talk to you?” It is irritating, but you’re right, when she’s older she probably won’t want to talk to me…So cherish it now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. As the mom of 3 now grown boys I’m smiling from ear to ear remembering just what you are talking about! Just when you think you might get a moment of privacy, here the pitter patter of little feet come! Enjoy, mama! Keep jotting your stories! My favorite “bathroom story” was the time I had a babysitter who said, “I’m sorry, I won’t be able to babysit again as they boys wouldn’t let me go to the bathroom. The one time I tried, I heard screaming and came out to find the couch turned upside down!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment